CAMERIMAGE concludes, winner announced

The sixteenth annual running of PLUS CAMERIMAGE concluded on Saturday evening December 6 with a gala dinner and announcement of winners in several categories.  Held in Lodz, Poland, ‘the capital of the Polish cinematography’, this is the only international festival dedicated to the ‘art of cinematography’; its purpose is to celebrate those who create images in motion and to provide recognition for their artistic contribution to visual storytelling.

The festival’s international jury, composed largely of world-acclaimed cinematographers, presented prizes for the cinematography in the movies being judged. 

This year’s Jury included:

  • Gabriel Beristain (cinematographer - K2, S.W.A.T., Blade II, Street Kings)
  • Steven Goldblatt (cinematographer - Batman Forever, Pelican Brief, Lethal Weapon, Prince of Tides)
  • Ryszard Horowitz (photographer whose works are exhibited worldwide)
  • Pierre Lhomme (cinematographer - Cyrano De Bergerac, The Matter of Resistance, King of Hearts, My Man, The Savage)
  • Nicola Pecorini (cinematographer - The Brothers Grimm, Tideland, The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus)
  • Steven Rosenblum (editor - Braveheart, Legends of the Fall, X-Men, The Last Samurai)
  • Juan Ruiz Anchia (cinematographer - Spartan, Confidence, Glengarry Glen Ross, The Jungle Book)
  • John Toll (cinematographer - The Thin Red Line, Vanilla Sky, Braveheart, Tropic Thunder)
  • Nigel Walters (cinematographer - Queer as Folk, Silent Witness, Marple: The Murder at the Vicarage, Saigon Baby)

Within the Main Competition, sixteen movies produced in 2007 and 2008 competed for the Festival's Grand Prix – the Golden Frog.  Winners in the Main Competition included:

  • Bronze FrogThe Baader Meinhof Complex.  Director of Photography:  Rainer Klausman.
  • Silver FrogBlindness.  Director of Photography:  Cesar Charlone.
  • Golden FrogSlumdog Millionaire.  Director of Photography: Anthony Dod Mantle

In addition to the Main Competition, the festival featured a competition for short films which, this year, attracted more than 30 entries from film schools around the world.  They were judged by an international jury that included cinematographers Karl Walter Lindenlaub and Sue Gibson; writer-producers Monty Montgomery and Brad Sieberling; and production designer, Lilly Kilvert. 

In keeping with CAMERIMAGE’s ‘frog’ theme, ‘Tadpole’ awards were presented.  The winners in that competition included:

  • Bronze TadpoleRoads.  Director of Photography:  Lior Geller
  • Silver TadpoleThe Gravediggers.  Director of photography:  Bartek Cierlica
  • Golden Tadpole: Dear Mom:  To Read If I Don’t Wake Up.  Director of Photography:  Aurelian Pechmeja.

The Polish Cinematographers Association also presented a special prize to the Golden Tadpole winner and Kodak awarded him a trip to the 2009 Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival in France, where his movie will be presented in the Kodak Short Film Showcase.  Kodak also presented a Lifetime Achievement award to the highly-respected French cinematographer, Pierre Lhomme, AFC

In acceptance remarks, cinematographers cited these awards as among the most valued because they represent recognition from their peers. 

“Once again, we’re pleased that the vast majority of the work that was shot on film was shot on Kodak film,” said Thierry Perronnet, Kodak marketing director for Europe.  “Even those experimenting with digital origination miss working with film and look forward to coming back to it.  Our involvement in CAMERIMAGE provides an opportunity for us to stay in touch with our customers, to applaud their work and to reassure them of Kodak’s continuing interest and support.”