KODAK and AWARD announce New Director of The Year judging panel and Call for Entry launch


View the viral ad promoting the Call for Entry 

SYDNEY June 29th 2009 --- Designed to recognise and promote exceptional new commercial directors in the Asia Pacific Region, the KODAK AWARD New Director Of The Year honors outstanding commercial directors whose fresh thinking and creativity sets them apart from the rest.

Entries for the KODAK AWARD New Director of The Year will open Monday, 29th June and close on Friday, 31st July 2009.


A distinguished line up of international judges has been selected;

Simon Langley, Creative Director, BMF Sydney
Ravi Deshpande, Chief Creative Officer, Contract Advertising, India
Toby Talbot, Executive Creative Director, DDB New Zealand
Mark Molloy, Director, Exit Films Melbourne
Romanca Jasinski, Head of TV, George Patterson Y&R Melbourne
Hamish Rothwell, Director, Goodoil Films Sydney
Sheung Yan Lo, Executive Creative Director, JWT Shanghai
Ted Lim, Executive Creative Director, Naga DDB Malaysia
Gavin Simpson, Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather Hong Kong
Richard Copping, Executive Creative Director, Saatchi & Saatchi Singapore
Scott Nowell, Executive Creative Director, Three Drunk Monkeys Sydney


New in 2009, the KODAK AWARD New Director Of The Year will select a winner from two categories;

  1. Current commercial directors who have only been in the commercial production field for a maximum of two years
  2. Current students enrolled in a full time training program or a graduate from a full time training program within the last 12 months of the competition closing date.

You are eligible if you have been directing other material previous to your commercial work.

Moving images only will be accepted as entries for judging.


Preparation of Entry Material

All Entries are FREE • All Entries must be received by Friday 31st July 2009

Entrants will be required to submit the following requirements:

1. A one-page word.doc file of your resume. This can be included on the DVD.

2. Three selections of your best work, anything for broadcast directed by yourself at any point in your career. Moving image only – ie. art pieces, animation, commercial art, music videos, shorts, viral design.

The Rewards

The winning current commercial director will be awarded a prize of 10 x 400’ loads of 35mm Kodak Motion Picture Film valued at approximately AUD4,000.00.

And the winning film school student or recent graduate will be awarded 5 x 400’ loads of 16mm KODAK Motion Picture film valued at approximately AUD1,300.00

The winners’ will announced at the New Director Award’s night held in Sydney on September 9th.

The winners will also be introduced and recognised at the AWARD Presentation Evening to be held on November 12th 2009 and attended by up to 800 of the finest industry members from the region.


For further information please contact the website www.awardnewdirector.com